Little Bear Westsail 32 refit: Pulling my wire Vlog #121

Arrrrr me hearties. Welcome aboard.

I don’t have much experience pulling wire. Legs yes, wire no. But at this time in my life it’s time to pull wire. There was nothing really wrong with the wire but it was a smaller gauge than I wanted and it wasn’t tinned wire. I cut some if it a fair way up from the end and it is quite oxidized – very dark brown inside the insulation. Oxidization means resistance, and resistance means heat, heat could lead to fire, sooooo – new wiring. Hence the pulling of wire.

I also have a crack at installing ‘Helicoil’ thread repair bits. These little fittings are INCREDIBLY useful. Where corroded aluminium rendered old bolt holes useless these Helicoil inserts worked wonders. I don’t know what I would have done without them.

As always fair winds, following seas, and God bless.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in A Sailor's Life, About Boats, Maintenance, My Boat, Refit, Repair, Tools, Westsail 32, Yacht and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

