Little Bear Westsail 32 refit: Boomkin Reinstall Blog # 111

Arrrrr me hearties. Welcome aboard.

At long last … actually everything about the boat refit seems to be ‘at long last’ …. it’s time to put the rudder cheeks back on. They were one of the first pieces of wood I created but they’ve been hiding out on the top shelf of my locker for what seems like ages. Well, today I broke out the 3M 4200 and the nuts `n bolts and put those bad boys back on! The only part of this project that didn’t go as planned was the clean up. Some of the 4200 oozed out from under the cheeks and while wiping the excess off is a snap, getting rid of the remainder that has smeared along the edge is not. However, here’s a tidbit for you DIYers: WD-40. Yep good ol’ WD-40 delivers the goods and helps to clean up after the 4200 job. I wish I’d known that when I put the cheeks on. Oh well, live and learn.

I also did the final fit of the boomkin. It is now firmly installed in it’s permanent home. I hope it likes it there.

As always fair winds, following seas, and God bless.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in A Sailor's Life, Maintenance, My Boat, Refit, Repair, Tools, Westsail 32, Yacht and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

