Little Bear Westsail 32 refit: Make a square peg round Blog #76

Arrrrr me hearties. Welcome aboard.

This is one of the project jobs that I was a bit nervous about. There can be NO screwing up with this one. If a mistake is made on this integral part, the whole piece is junk and it’s an expensive piece not to mention time consuming to shape, cut, drill, fill and so on.

The prescribed method for getting a round end on a square peg is to use a rasp, & file away till you have the needed round bit. However, I am not a wood worker by any stretch of the imagination so I did not want to take the chance that I might mess it up. Fortunately, I have a friend who is a fabricator / welder who agreed to make me a tool that would take the guess-work out of the job.

My first idea was to buy two off-the-shelf hole-saws and have my friend cut & weld them together to get the required depth: 3″. But after looking at the saws, and thinking a bit (good thing someone thinks) he realized that the outside diameter of the saws was 3″ but the inside diameter was smaller – less the width of the metal blade! Oops! Dodged a bullet there. So, the solution was to purchase a piece of 3″ I.D. pipe and make a saw blade on one end. That is exactly what he did. He went to the trouble of actually welding in carbide teeth! the tool worked fabulously! I am so grateful for friends who don’t mind pitching in a helping hand and gifting their time and skill for a job like this. Thanks, Ken!

Here’s how it went down:

As always fair winds, following seas, and God bless.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in A Sailor's Life, About Boats, Maintenance, My Boat, Refit, Repair, Sail boat, Tools, Westsail 32, Yacht and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

