Little Bear Westsail 32 refit: Removing old backing plates Blog #73

Arrrrr me hearties. Welcome aboard.

The time has come to get down and dirty inside the bowels of the boat. The seacocks are gone but the old backing plates are not. The old seacocks were through-bolted with bronze bolts with a backing plate being sandwiched between the seacock and the inside of the hull. I could have taken the easy way and reused the original plates but I’m glad I took the harder route.

The reason I’m glad I took the harder route is because when I went to pry up the old plates most of them came off with one tug leaving a layer of veneer behind! They were well past their prime.

Join Dread Pirate Biff & crew …

As always fair winds, following seas, and God bless.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

