Little Bear Westsail 32 refit: Woody would Blog # 51

 

Arrrrr me hearties! Welcome aboard.

Arrrrr me hearties! Welcome aboard.

Woody is about to get Buzzed!  Pixar allusions aside, it is time to get to work fabricating the rudder cheeks. The rudder cheeks were among the first things to be removed from Little Bear. They had been constructed of plywood and water had made ingress at the top part where the cheeks meet the rudder cap. Rot was all through them and rotten plywood doesn’t have much strength. So off they came.

I’m replacing the plywood cheeks with solid Ash lumber. I need to laminate the planks together in order to have a piece big enough to cut the cheek from. In this episode I laminate the first cheek together.

I also make my first attempt at creating an epoxy sleeve for the through bolts that will mount the boom-kin to the deck. I suspect this will be the first of many such sleeves to be created so it an experiment and a bit of a learning experience for me.

Here’s how I made out:

 

 

Fair winds, following seas, and God  bless.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in About Boats, cap rails, Maintenance, My Boat, Refit, Repair, rudder cheeks, Sail boat, sampson posts, Tools, voyage, Westsail 32, Yacht and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

