Little Bear Westsail 32 refit: Reconditioning teak caprails Vlog # 46

Arrrrr me hearties! Welcome aboard.

The days are getting longer and the rain is easing up so work on Little Bear is picking up. I’m trying to get as much of the labour intensive work behind me as possible.

I’ve been sanding the hull above the waterline but I haven’t created a vid for it because it’s just too boring. I mean really – you want to see a video of paint drying? Boooring. So no, no sanding video. I’ll show what it looks like when I’ve finished sanding but no 17 hours of sanding. No. I know, you’re disappointed but you are just going to have to deal with it.

In the mean time I have some very exciting footage for you – behold! Cleaning the teak cap rails.  The topside isn’t too bad, but the bottoms side sure is. Covered in ancient gunk. It’s coming off.  And in the most piratey way possible. No messing about it’s time to walk the plank.

I used a wire wheel on my angle grinder. The angle grinder is much faster than a drill,  and the wire wheel won’t get plugged up with goo like a sanding disk would. So without further ado observe the glory:

 

 

Fair winds, following seas, and God  bless.

 

Biff

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in About Boats, cap rails, Hull - Deck Joint, Maintenance, My Boat, Refit, Repair, Tools, Uncategorized, Westsail 32, Yacht. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

