Cap Rail Removal Pt 4: Refit #18 Vlog #34

Arrrr me hearties! Welcome aboard.

In order to facilitate the removal of the aft sections of cap rail I had to remove the boom gallows. It was not a particularly difficult job, consisting of 6 large lag screws on each side of the boat. With the gallows off I was able to easily remove the remaining sections of wood.

This concludes the removal phase of the rails. The next challenge with the rails will be to reinstall them. I have to dress the wood, come up with an approach to fill / seal the hull-deck joint and then reattach the rails without creating any more leaky bits. I have several ideas on how to do this but I will decided what to do in the future. For now, I have some other things I need to remove. Stay tuned for more Little Bear madness.

Oh, and if you want to see the gallows removal:

Fair winds, following seas, and God’s blessing.

Biff.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in About Boats, cap rails, Maintenance, My Boat, Refit, Repair, Tools, voyage, Westsail 32, Yacht and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

