Little Bear gets a nose job: Refit Update #11 Vlog #26

The time has come: The old Bow Sprit must go! This is a largish project that I’ve been looking forward to doing. The boat really can’t sail without having the sprit swapped out. In a previous blog / video I documented the purchase of a beautiful piece of Douglas Fir. It’s been sitting in my garage awaiting the day that it can start serving it’s purpose in life. But first, the old piece of wood must come off.

The old sprit is laminated boards with some kind of other wood fixed on the sides for aesthetic purposes. Both are quite rotten. The laminates have come apart and the rot is along about 2/3 of the stick. I’ll feel much happier with a good piece of wood up front.

The mast is already off the boat so I had a bit of a tough time getting the sprit off. I couldn’t use the mast to lift and I was doing this by myself. I tied the sprit off to a cleat but the center of balance is forward of the bow. I had to lever the sprit up and when the bolts finally cleared it disappeared overboard – down to the the pavement. It didn’t hit hard because I”d tied it off but my rope was probably too long. I’ll have to be very careful when I reinstall it.

I don’t recommend doing a boat refit solo – but I don’t have much choice. There are lots of people who want to go sailing – few who are willing to lend a hand with these big jobs. If you’re contemplating buying a project boat, consider who (if any) will be helping you with the grunt work. I highly recommend having a grunt. Grunts are good.

Nevertheless, here’s the vid of the process:

Fair winds, following seas, and God’s blessings

Biff.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in About Boats, Maintenance, My Boat, Refit, Repair, Westsail 32 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

