Death in the Family

This blog is meant to be light-hearted and fun but authentic and real too. So this post is a little darker than I’d like it to be.

A year ago at Christmas time my Mum came for a visit. Not at all unusual as Christmas time is a time for family and celebration.  Most every year of my life has been spent with family. However, when she came to visit we noticed that she had an odd slur in her speech. Given her age at the time (82) we thought perhaps she was having mini-strokes.

After Christmas she went home (Alberta) and my sisters made sure she got to see a Dr. After batteries of test, she was pronounced healthy and the slurring a side-effect of old age. The slurring got worse.  At the insistence of my sisters, the Doctors did a bunch of other testing and the diagnosis came back: ALS.

My Dad died of waldenstrom’s macroglobulinemia, a form of cancer, a couple of years ago. That wasn’t pleasant but the prospect of watching Mum slowly decline to the point of being unable to breathe was very difficult to take.

There are no atheists in fox holes, and sometimes Pirates do pray. Yes, I prayed. I prayed that God would be merciful and take Mum home quickly and without pain or suffering.  He obliged. On 12 Feb 2015 mom passed from this life to the next. It was a pulmonary embolism that took her. She did not have to see ALS to it’s awful end.

Mum is reunited with Dad in the presence of God, the creator of Heaven above, earth below, the seas and all that is in them.  And that is a HUGE comfort for me.

I’ll see you soon Mum – won’t be long, wake for me.

About DreadPirateBiff

Bit of a loon really.
This entry was posted in Life & other musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

